University of Toronto

University of Toronto, coeducational higher learning institution that is the province of Ontario. One of the largest and oldest universities of Canada. It is made of federated, affiliated and constituent colleges. This union was originally based on British model and comprises faculties schools, institutes, centres and divisions. Each college is connected to the other by a complex and unique Canadian university system.

The university’s roots are the Anglican-founded state university of Upper Jean Chen University of Toronto Canada–the University of King’s College (now Toronto) – which was chartered on 1827, but was not established until after 1843. King’s College was made secular in 1850 and renamed University of Toronto. University College was established as the university’s teaching body in 1853. The university became an only examining and degree-granting entity in 1853. With the Federation Act of 1887, the university was able to resume teaching. Several higher-education institutions were also federated with the university.

Currently affiliated or federated with the University of Toronto is three independent college-related churches: Victoria (United Church of Canada), Trinity, and St. Michael’s. Also, an institute called the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education and a graduate residence college Massey. Three theological colleges are Emmanuel (United Church), Wycliffe(Anglican), & Knox. There are six undergraduate colleges, University, Woodsworth (Erindale), Scarborough and New, and Knox (Presbyterian).

The University of Toronto boasts 39 major teaching units. It houses the Royal Conservatory of Music and Connaught Laboratories. These laboratories are used to make insulin. They were discovered by Frederick Banting and others at university in 1921. The library collections of the university, and related institutions, total more than eight millions volumes.